Le Massif de l & rsquo; Esterel

Between the Mediterranean and Provence limestone, Esterel is a volcanic massif 32ooo hectares, 14000 classified. Its striking red color, that changes every hour of the day is related to the rhyolite, or red porphyry, volcanic rocks of the Paleozoic Era. Its steep slopes, its narrow gorges and dense, its sumptuous peaks lava amaranth make an inexhaustible exploration site. The relief shredded, extends into the sea, Mountain pushes headlands seawards ; the sea enters the solid. The red light coloration of rocks makes a striking contrast with the indigo blue sea.

Road Esterel has long been the only one used for traffic with Italy, she was threatened by robbery. The most dangerous place was near Mount vinegar. The exploits of bandit Gaspard de Besse, the 18 century have remained legendary. Hidden in a cave on Mount Vinegar, Gaspard and his gang attacked and robbed several years audit, cavaliers. In 1781 to 25 years the robber was caught, broken on the wheel and his head is nailed to a tree on the main road to mark his guilty exploits. The solid was, until the 19 century, a refuge for escaped convicts from the prison at Toulon.

Camping the banks of the & rsquo; Agay is enjoying a prime location, at the foot of the Esterel mountains you can enjoy many hiking trails or mountain bike accessible to all. You will not fail to discover the sights and scenery of field : The peak of the bear, the rocher Saint-Barthélemy, Cape Lookout red, Mount vinegar, which rises to 614m, Cave of St. Baume with her so famous history in the region. The ravine Perthus and that of Malinfernet will refresh you with its cozy sources.

Do not miss the Cape Dramont summit with its built in Semaphore 1860 on the ruins of a watchtower built in 1562. It is still used for monitoring the sea. Cape Dramont discover The Golden Island, ranked as one of the sixty most beautiful sites in France. Its square, crenellated tower is built of red stone of the Esterel. L & rsquo; Island gold was immortalized by Hergé and Tintin “Black Island”.

Previous Image

Next Image



FrenchEnglishDutchluctus efficitur. facilisis dictum id porta. non

Le Massif de l’Esterel

Entre méditerranée et Provence calcaire, l’Estérel est un massif volcanique de 32ooo hectares dont 14000 sont classés. Son étonnante couleur rouge, qui change à chaque heure du jour est liée à la rhyolithe, ou porphyre rouge, roche volcanique de l’ère primaire. Ses pentes escarpées, ses gorges étranglées et touffues, ses somptueux pitons de lave amarante en font un site d’exploration inépuisable. Le relief déchiqueté, se prolonge jusque dans la mer, la montagne pousse des promontoires vers le large ; la mer pénètre dans le massif. La coloration rouge feu des roches fait un contraste saisissant avec le bleu indigo de la mer.

La route de l’Estérel fut pendant longtemps la seule utilisée pour le trafic avec l’Italie, elle était menacée par le brigandage. L’endroit le plus dangereux se trouvait près du mont vinaigre. Les exploits du bandit Gaspard de Besse, au 18 e siècle y sont restés légendaires. Cachés dans une grotte du Mont Vinaigre, Gaspard et sa bande ont attaqué et détroussé durant plusieurs années diligences, cavaliers. En 1781 à 25 ans le brigand fut attrapé, roué vif et on cloua sa tête à un arbre sur la grand route pour marquer ses exploits coupables. Le massif fut, jusqu’à la fin du 19 e siècle, le refuge des forçats évadés du bagne de Toulon.

Le camping les rives de l'Agay jouie d’un emplacement privilégié, situés au pied du massif de l’Estérel vous pourrez profiter de nombreuses randonnées pédestre ou en vtt accessible à tous. Vous ne manquerez pas de découvrir les curiosités et les paysages du domaine : Le pic de l’ours, le rocher Saint-Barthélemy, le belvédère du Cap roux, le mont vinaigre qui culmine à 614m, la grotte de la Saint Baume avec son histoire si célèbre dans la région. Le ravin du Perthus et celui du Malinfernet vous rafraichira avec ses sources agréables.

Il ne faut pas manquer le Cap Dramont avec au sommet son Sémaphore construit en 1860 sur les ruines d’une tour de guet datant de 1562. Il est encore utilisé pour la surveillance de la mer. Du cap Dramont vous découvrirez L’Ile d’or, classé comme l’un des soixante plus beaux sites de France. Sa tour carrée et crénelée est construite en pierre rouge de l’Esterel. L'Ile d’or a été immortalisée par Hergé et Tintin dans "l’Ile Noire".

Previous Image
Next Image

frenchdutchEnglish